Zip Code:


Latitude / Longitude:

45° 25′ 48 N, 107° 29′ 24 W



Time Zone:

Mountain (MST) (UTC-7)


Big Horn County is a county in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 12,865. The county seat is Hardin. The county, like the river and mountain range, were named for the bighorn sheep in the Rocky Mountains. The county was founded in 1913. It is immediately to the north from the northern Wyoming state line.


Big Horn County in Montana and Wyoming are two of twenty-two counties or parishes in the United States with the same name to border each other across state lines. The others are Sabine County, Texas and Sabine Parish, Louisiana, Union County, Arkansas and Union Parish, Louisiana, Bristol County, Massachusetts and Bristol County, Rhode Island, Kent County, Maryland and Kent County, Delaware, Escambia County, Alabama and Escambia County, Florida, Pike County, Illinois and Pike County, Missouri, Teton County, Idaho and Teton County, Wyoming, Park County, Montana and Park County, Wyoming, San Juan County, New Mexico and San Juan County, Utah, and Vermilion County, Illinois and Vermillion County, Indiana. respectively. (Note, despite the different spellings, the source of the name is the same for Vermilion County, Illinois and Vermillion County, Indiana—the Vermillion River which flows through both counties.)





Current Status:



Coal mining and agriculture both play major roles in Big Horn County’s economy. Farms and ranches in the county produce mainly beef cattle, sugar beets, alfalfa, and small grains.