Grand Chute


Grand Chute



Zip Code:


Latitude / Longitude:

44°15′16.71″N 88°24′55.47″W / 44.2546417°N 88.4154083°W / 44.2546417


791 feet (241m)

Time Zone:

Central (CST) (UTC-6)


Grand Chute (French: great fall or “large rapids”) is a town in Outagamie County, Wisconsin, United States. The unincorporated community of Apple Creek is partially located in the town and the ghost towns of Grand Chute and Lawesburg are located in the town. With a population of 20,919, Grand Chute was the largest town by population in the state of Wisconsin as of the 2010 census. It was the birthplace of U.S. Senator Joseph McCarthy.


The Town of Grand Chute was formed on April 3, 1849 inside what was then Brown County, Wisconsin. By state legislative act, Grand Chute was split off of the Town of Kaukalin (later Kaukauna). The Town of Grand Chute’s boundary at its establishment comprised a much larger area than it has today, formed by what today are the towns of Dale, Hortonia, Greenville, Ellington, and present-day Grand Chute. By 1850, due to a large influx of new settlers, the towns of Hortonia (which included Dale at the time), Greenville, and Ellington had all been split away from Grand Chute to form new towns.





Current Status:

Grand Chute’s population in 1984 was estimated to be 10,874. In March of that year, residents overwhelmingly approved using town funds to attempt incorporation into a village. After town hearings in late 1984, Grand Chute petitioned to the State of Wisconsin. The Wisconsin Department of Development denied the town’s request to incorporate on March 25, 1985. At the time of the denial, the DOD’s findings were that some (but not necessarily all) government services would be better provided by the City of Appleton, and that the proposed village was not compact nor homogenous.


Outagamie County was set up by law in February 1851 and had its county government formally organized on April 1, 1851. At that time, the Town of Grand Chute (which by definition changed from Brown to Outagamie County) was established as the seat of county government affairs.